Lock-Down Work

Great Grandad John 

My mum has taught me all about

A soldier who was great!

My Great Grandad John 

She said you served in WW2 

From 39-42

With courage, strength and bravery

You left your home and family.

 

Not knowing what might be ahead

You boarded upon the train mum said 

Hugged goodbye your mum and dad 

And off you went.

 

On April 25th each year 

We make our wreaths and poppies too

It is so special to remember you

Nana gets the photos out 

Medal, albums, and diaries all about.

They tell us about what you went through

And make me feel so proud of you too.

 

By Brooke Bayne

 

This is some of my work I did during lock-down I entered this poem into the Anzac Writing Competition.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *